My recent Reiki treatment

topwebsearch.blogspot.com

Where is your left hand right now?  You’re right foot?  Are you aware of the surface that you are leaning against?  Have you been touching something long enough that you are not even sure of the sensation of weight?

Funny isn’t it, how we can spend so long in a position and completely lose sense of a sensation (or the sensation shifts).  It’s the same with our energy (and I don’t mean the hyped up kind of energy you get in Gatorade bottle) – you know the one I am talking about, the kind you can’t define – and not always aware of.

The kind that is channeled in Reiki.

I recently had a Reiki session with Vicky Cook  (who I would link to but she doesn’t have anything to link to…so spiritual ;)), who is a dear friend as well as a simply beautiful human being and intelligent healer, and I am keen to tell you about it.

I have had Reiki at various times, but not formally – just snippets of people practicing their newly studied skill which is an entirely different experience to receiving a session completely focused on you/me.

Reiki (pronounced Ray-key) has its traditions rooted in Asia, particularly Japan.  It’s essentially a form of healing which involves the channeling of universal energy from a practitioner to a patient/client/recipient, via the hands.  It’s a ‘Healing Art’ – as Vicky says.  The practitioner is essentially the conduit for this positive, healing energy.

Uni-fucking-versal energy? I can hear it in your voice……”Oh Puhleese! All you new-agey people always talk about universal energy, like it’s some vague concept that keeps us others ‘out’”.  Let me give you another example – a hug.  Think of how you feel when are hugged by the person you love….healing energy right there baby.  That’s the kind of energy that is tapped into in Reiki.

Honesty on the table, I was pretty cocky going in that I wasn’t going to feel anything except gratitude for the rest I needed.  I seem to always prepare for disappointment with healing modalities that don’t include some form of sweat and effort (i.e. yoga) and intense physical pain or adjustments (deep tissue massage, chiropractic etc.)  It’s not that I don’t have faith – I have a lot of faith – just not always of my own ability to completely let go.

Of course, I am very conscious of energy all the time – without even trying – and that wasn’t a pompous, hubristic remark.  It’s part of the business of delivering Zen (and I say that with my tongue firmly in my cheek), much like a musician is conscious of distant sounds, or an artist sees another shade of green.

If I am not conscious of your energy, or the energy of a yoga room with many people, people won’t trust me, or relate to me.  Put it this way, it’s much like George W. Bush not really being conscious of the effects of decisions he made while in office – and look where we are now….still a little broken.

But, I digress – of course I do (just going with the energy man…)

Universal energy is in direct cahoots with your instinct.  Your instinct really is very powerful with a connection to it, as evidenced here.

Scientists have had a hard time measuring the effects of Reiki, but there have been studies that have shown an increase in production of cells after a Reiki treatment.   If you aren’t living under a rock you might have heard the term ‘quantum physics’ – the idea that cells are influenced by thought – manifestation.  It’s along the same lines.

So what actually happens?  I hear you ask.  A session can last about an hour, sometimes less.  You lay on a table fully clothed, relax and then the practitioner gently puts his/her hands slightly above or gently on various areas of your body (usually start with the head and then general areas like your joints; knees, hips etc. and feet).  There is little touching at all.

reiki-health.com

You don’t actually feel the heaviness of touch, like, say, going to a masseuse, but you feel the practitioners hands close by. Vicky starts to connect with the energy, and lightly takes a ‘scan’ of my body, feeling any blockages – essentially feeling where she should focus.  Then, she gently holds her hands over areas where she feels need it.

I was really hoping for something amazing to happen, I truly was, but I was doubtful.  I closed my eyes, took a deep breath and then let the magic happen….and it did.  My session was, quite frankly ….. Insert a more creative and expressive word for amazing here __________________.

I have tightness and some pain in my right hip and knee, Vicky spent the longest time there.  My right hip started to become really warm, and then my knee started twitching in a sort of convulsing way.  When she came up to my left shoulder, I felt this overwhelming sense of emotion (felt like love)  in my chest – my body started to tingle and I burst into tears….like a tropical storm – it came with force and then ended just as quickly.  Leaving a silent hum.

Almost a week later and I can’t wait for my next session, my body definitely feels different.  Lighter.    Maybe science can’t measure it; perhaps it doesn’t seem as effective because it’s not labeled in a bottle but what of the idea that we can just feel it?  How is that for a concept?

Here is how Vicky describes this art:

“Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes

healing. It is administered by “laying on hands” and is based on the idea that an
unseen “life force energy” flows through us and is what causes us to be alive. If
one’s “life force energy” is low, then we are more likely to get sick or feel stress, and if it
is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy.
The word Reiki is made of two Japanese words – Rei which means “God’s Wisdom or
the Higher Power” and Ki which is “life force energy”. So Reiki is actually “spiritually
guided life force energy……
….While Reiki is spiritual in nature, it is not a religion. It has no dogma, and there is nothingyou must believe in order to learn and use Reiki. In fact, Reiki is not dependent on beliefat all and will work whether you believe in it or not. Because Reiki comes from a highersource, many people find that using Reiki puts them more in touch with the experience oftheir religion rather than having only an intellectual concept of it.”

Here are some articles you might find interesting to further your curiosity

http://www.reikiteaching.co.uk/page10.html

http://wisechoices.blogspot.com/

http://www.skepdic.com/reiki.html

One thought on “My recent Reiki treatment

  1. Pingback: I meditate to avoid being an asshole ~ by Vicky Cook | Love Yourself, Naturally

Leave a Reply

